Countries where the Boeing 737 MAX aircraft is prohibited and where it still operates

The Boeing 737 MAX in recent months has been the protagonist of tragic accidents and today some countries prohibit flights with this type of aircraft.

In the month of October 2018, a Boeing 737 MAX belonging to Lion Air, crashed in Indonesia only 12 minutes after takeoff and claiming the lives of 189 people.

Later, on March 10, a similar plane belonging to Ethiopian Airlines crashed after taking off from Addis Ababa, capital of Ethiopia, leaving 157 dead.

Due to the extensive accidents involving this airplane, the European Aviation Safety Agency and authorities of several countries ordered the suspension of operations of all Boeing 737 MAX aircraft.

The order went into effect yesterday, March 12, and will remain until the facts can be clarified.

Meanwhile, in other countries, some airlines independently decided to leave all their 737 MAXs on the ground. In some nations such as Canada or Mauritania, the aircraft model remains in operation.

Airlines such as Norwegian have already announced that they will seek financial compensation from Boeing for the economic losses caused by leaving their fleet of 737 MAX on the ground.

map of situation Boeing 737 MAX

The map above shows the current world situation of the Boeing 737 MAX. (click to enlarge).

Countries that totally banned 737 operations until the situation is clarified (Red on the map):

  • Germany
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • China
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Egypt
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Estonia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Holland
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • United Kingdom
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • Vietnam

Countries where an airline has stopped operating with its Boeing 737 MAX (Orange on the map):

  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • South Korea
  • Morocco
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Russia
  • South Africa

Countries where the aircraft continues to operate normally (Green on the map):

  • Colombia
  • United States
  • Kazakhstan
  • Mauritania
  • Panama
  • Qatar

In gray, there are countries without airlines that operate with the Boeing 737 MAX and that have not banned the flights of others.

How to know if my next flight will be in a Boeing 737 MAX?

If we have a flight reserved for the future, we can know which model of aircraft will be the one that will provide us service. For that we have websites like,,, FlightAware, that allow us to know the details, although it is worth clarifying that airlines can make a change at the last minute.

Source: Boeing, Bloomberg. Featured Image: LLBG Spotter.
Iani Nikolov
News Reporter

1 thought on “Countries where the Boeing 737 MAX aircraft is prohibited and where it still operates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *