Tour de France 2018: Stages and routes

The month of July is approaching and France is already preparing for the 105th edition of the Tour de France, the most important cycling competition in the world.

The 21 stages of this year will be developed along 3,329 kilometers. The start will take place in the town of Noirmoutier-en-l’Île, in the west of the country, and will end as usual in the Champs Elysees of the city of Paris.

With the exception of small sections in the Spanish Pyrenees, the rest of the tour of the Tour will take place entirely within the territory of France.

The competition, which will take place between July 7 and 29, has planned some sections in pavé and it is worth highlighting the visit again to the Alpe d’Huez, one of the most emblematic places visited by the fans and that had his last participation in the 2015 edition.

Of the 21 stages of the Tour, 8 will be in plains, ideal for sprinters; 6 high mountain, ideal for climbers; 5 of half mountain and 2 time trial (one by teams and one individual).

The three arrivals this year will be La Rosière, Alpe d’Huez and Col de Portet. In addition, several mountain passes will be traversed, 11 in the Alps, 10 in the Pyrenees and 4 in the Central Massif.

Stage 1 7 July Noirmoutier-en-l’Île – Fontenay-le-Comte
etapa llana
Stage 2 8 July Mouilleron-Saint-Germain – La Roche-sur-Yon
etapa llana
Stage 3 9 July Cholet – Cholet
contrarreloj por equipos
Stage 4 10 July La Baule-Escoublac – Sarzeau
etapa llana
Stage 5 11 July Lorient – Quimper
etapa escarpada
Stage 6 12 July Brest – Mûr-de-Bretagne
etapa escarpada
Stage 7 13 July Fougères – Chartres
etapa llana
Stage  8 14 July Dreux – Amiens
etapa llana
Stage 9 15 July Arras – Roubaix
etapa llana
16 July Rest day
Día de descanso
Stage 10 17 July Annecy – Le Grand-Bornand
etapa de montaña
Stage 11 18 July Albertville – La Rosière
etapa de montaña
Stage 12 19 July Bourg-Saint-Maurice – Alpe d’Huez
etapa de montaña
Stage 13 20 July Le Bourg-d’Oisans – Valence
etapa escarpada
Stage 14 21 July Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux – Mende
etapa de media montaña
Stage 15 22 July Millau – Carcasona
etapa de media montaña
23 July Rest day
Día de descanso
Stage 16 24 July Carcasona – Bagnères-de-Luchon
etapa de montaña
Stage 17 25 July Bagnères-de-Luchon – Saint-Lary-Soulan
etapa de montaña
Stage 18 26 July Trie-sur-Baïse – Pau
etapa llana
Stage 19 27 July Lourdes – Laruns
etapa de montaña
Stage 20 28 July Saint-Pée-sur-Nivelle – Espelette
contrarreloj individual
Stage 21 29 July Houilles – París
etapa llana

Some 22 teams participate in the Tour de France, 18 in the UCI WorldTeam category and 4 in the Continental Professional category. Since this edition, the number per participants per team drops from 9 to 8, resulting in a total of 176 competitors.

  • UCI World Teams:

FRA AG2R La Mondiale  KAZ Astana  BRN Bahrain-Merida  USA BMC Racing  GER Bora-Hansgrohe

FRA Groupama-FDJ  BEL Lotto-Soudal  AUS Mitchelton-Scott  ESP Movistar  BEL Quick-Step Floors

RSA Dimension Data  USA EF Education First-Drapac  SUI Katusha-Alpecin  NED LottoNL-Jumbo  GBR Sky

GER Sunweb  USA Trek-Segafredo  UAE UAE Emirates

  • UCI Professional Continental teams:

FRA Cofidis  FRA Direct Énergie  FRA Fortuneo-Samsic  BEL Wanty-Groupe Gobert

The map of all stages is shown below. You can download it in PDF format in this link. 

Le Tour 2018 map

The images and graphics belong to ASO / Tour de France.
News Reporter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *